BSides KC

Apr 26-27

BSides KC

Apr 26-27

Welcome BSidesKC. I attended and spoke this year at BSidesKC. This post discusses the [awesome] conference and provides the materials, including a video, of my talk.

I got accepted to talk at BSidesKC!

I was both very excited and somewhat scared. I have done several presentations before at peer-reviewed academic conferences (NCSS, CODASPY, etc.), but this was my first talk at an industry security conference. This talk is an extension of my earlier work on Why We Should Teach Offense First. You can read the now published paper that is the core of this talk or check out my slides.1 Overall, the experience was awesome. Lesley Carhart (aka hacks4pancakes) gave a great opening talk on [the lack of] IOT security. I really liked her message and love to see fellow veterans doing great work in the community. The entire venue had a really low-key feel despite having some pretty big-name security presenters.

One of the best parts of the conference is that BSidesKC puts all the talks online for free. You can access the entire playlist of BSidesKC talks here. This is both awesome and scary because it is the first time I actually got to watch myself present.

They also provide you with feedback on your presentation which is cool (my feedback is below). This certainly is a very small sample size, but Dallas (BSidesKC Organizer) messaged me that (and I quote) “FWIW, your talk was second only to Lesley on the amount of feedback received and it was very positive so you should be awfully happy about that!” I am.

My feedback

Feel free to send me a message if you have any additional feedback, comments, or questions about the work.


  1. I actually just found out this draft will be published at the 23rd Colloquium for Information Systems Security Education (CISSE) in a little over a month [return]

comments powered by Disqus